Share Your World – 2013 Week 5

 

Cee continues her probing of our lives. Check out her post and share your life with us.

Are you a morning or night person?

I love both early morning and late night – it is the afternoon that crushes me. I am always sleepy in the PM. My ideal life would be life with a siesta – 2 hours to have a light lunch and then a nap, then I would be able to sustain a life of getting up a bit before 6 and staying up till 2 ish.

What is your preferred hot drink: coffee, tea, water or other?

I am pretty much a coffee guy, but I don’t mind tea now and then.IMG_0996

What was your favorite toy as a child  . . .  and now?

Until I got my first real camera at age 19 ish I loved Lego’s best. Since then I like to play with my camera. I must admit that I can’t wait to have grandchildren to build Lego castles with though.

If you had a choice which would be your preference salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, hot tub, ski resort or desert?

Tough question. They all sound so good.

Probably my favorite place on earth though, is the beach – salt water. When I was growing up, my Dad used to take us to Jones Beach, on the southern shore of Long Island almost every Saturday. It’s a state park, so there was none of that beach community stuff going on. It was just sand and water.

 

My Pirate Kite

My Pirate Kite

We always went to the “West End” where the beaches were (and still are) about ½ mile from parking lot to the actual water, plenty of room to fly a kite or throw a Frisbee.

Occasionally we would meet my Uncle’s family on the beach, and have breakfast there, (fried egg sandwiches cooked on a charcoal grill) then leave mid afternoon so my big brother could get home to do his paper route. We would start going early in the season (late May) right through September. Though I am a Jersey boy – born and bred, I have probably only been to the Jersey shore ½ a dozen times.

Those are my some of my fondest childhood memories, and so I still love to be at a beach – almost anywhere – and you will probably find me body surfing rather than sun bathing 80% of the time.

Well – that is more than enough.

Ben

Oh – stop by and check out my blog – Another Red Letter Day

